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April 2011
Dear Parents,

With the start of prom and graduation season upon us, this is an exciting time for high school students, as well
as friends and family, taking part in all of the festivities surrounding these memorable events in a teenager's
life. This time of celebration can easily turn to a time of fragedy because of the increased prevaience of
underage drinking, as teens may be tempted to drink at after-prom parties and graduation celebrations.

We commend those who make the wise and mature decision to not participate in illegal and dangerous
behavior. Parents and administrators have the best opportunity to influence decisions and attitudes. To help
foster safe choices, parents and teens need to understand Ohio’s underage drinking laws.

e Parents may not provide alcohol to children who are under 21, even in their own home with the other
parents’ permission. Those convicted of providing alcohol to a person under 21 years of age face
maximum sentences of six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. Law enforcement may also confiscate
any alcohol, money or property used in committing these offenses.

« ltis illegal to share in the cost of purchasing alcoholic beverages, or to attempt to purchase alcohol,
even if the sale is refused. The penalty for attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage for underage
individuals is a maximum fine of $250 and/or up to 30 days in jail. Anyone who purchases, sells or
gives alcoholic beverages to under-aged individuals can be sent to jail.

« If you are under 21 years of age and are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration between .02
percent and .08 percent, a level that can be reached after just one or two drinks, you can be arrested.
Punishment is suspension of your driver license for at least 90 days up to a maximum of two years,
plus four points added to your driving record. Having an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle is
also illegali.

We must continue to work together to stop the senseless tragedies associated with irresponsible and illegai
underage alcohol consumption. If you have information about a bar, store or carryout selling beer and/or liquor
to persons under the age of 21, please notify us by calling the department’s toll-free hot line at 1-877-
4MINORS. Ohio Investigative Unit agents will investigate every complaint. Working together, we can protect
Ohio’s young people and make this the safest prom and graduation seascn yet.

Sincerely,

1oyt Il J -

Robert W. Booker, Jr.
Executive Director

: Mission Statement
“to save lives, reduce injuries and economic loss, to administer Qhio’s motor vehicle faws and to preserve the safety
and well being of all cifizens with the most cost-effective and service-onented methods available.”



